Carpathian Euroregion

euroregiunea carpatica
The Carpathian Euroregion (CE) is an international association in Central and Eastern Europe, established on 14th February 1997 as a reunion of cross-border regions from Poland, Slovakia, Hungary, Ukraine and Romania. It covers a surface of 145.000 km² and a population of 14.2 million inhabitants. Romania is represented by the counties of: Satu Mare, Sălaj, Botoşani, Harghita and Maramureş, while the Secretariat for the Romanian part is located in Maramureş. Between 2002-2004 the presidency of the organisation was ensured by our county.
The association has 5 working groups, reunited experts and professionals from each member region lead by different countries:
  • Committee for Regional Development (HU)
  • Committee for Cross‐Border Trade (RO)
  • Committee for Tourism and Environment (PL)
  • Committee for Social Infrastructure (UA)
  • Committee for the Prevention of Natural Disasters (SK)
Maramures has participated under the umbrella of this organisation to several projects like: “Politics to prevent flooding” (FLAPP) – together with Northen Ireland and UK, ”Logo East” a project in the field of public administration and water management in partnership with Hague (the Netherlands), “Interactive Forum for Transport Experts in the Carpathian Euroregion” and “Cooperation along the exterior border of EU, within the Carpathian Euroregion”.

The activities under the framework of this organisation are various and cover fields like economics, tourism, culture, education, environment protection.

Between 2013-2015 partners cooperated under a new project: ”Sustainable development of border regions ensured by an efficient functioning of the Carpathian Euroregion” financed by CBC ENPI HUSKROUA 2007-2013 cross border cooperation program, that aimed to secure the role of the Carpathian Euroregion in cross border cooperation by identifying new points of mutual interest.
site vechi site vechi
© 2018 Consiliul Judeţean Maramureş. All Rights Reserved.